Fantasy, Young Adult

The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller

Amazon.com: The Shadows Between Us (9781250189967): Levenseller, Tricia:  Books

Pages: 326

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Release Date: February 25, 2020

Genre(s): Fantasy

Format: Hardcover

Goodreads Synopsis

“Alessandra is tired of being overlooked, but she has a plan to gain power:

1) Woo the Shadow King.
2) Marry him.
3) Kill him and take his kingdom for herself.

No one knows the extent of the freshly crowned Shadow King’s power. Some say he can command the shadows that swirl around him to do his bidding. Others say they speak to him, whispering the thoughts of his enemies. Regardless, Alessandra knows what she deserves, and she’s going to do everything within her power to get it.

But Alessandra’s not the only one trying to kill the king. As attempts on his life are made, she finds herself trying to keep him alive long enough for him to make her his queen—all while struggling not to lose her heart. After all, who better for a Shadow King than a cunning, villainous queen?”

What Did I Think?

The social season of Bridgerton meets the wickedly fierce characters of Throne of Glass in Tricia Levenseller’s The Shadows Between Us, and I am HERE for it!

My first Tricia Levenseller book was Daughter of the Pirate King, and while it was enjoyable, I could totally see how far the author’s writing has come since its publication. I was hooked on The Shadows Between Us after reading the very first chapter, and that feeling continued for a long time after I finished it. The overall concept of the book was wholly centered on enemies-to-lovers (err… kind of a twisty friends-to-lovers vibe too!), and while I usually don’t love that trope, it was perfectly suited in this context and very well executed. I quickly fell in love with the royal court atmosphere that was full of political intrigue, and I found the romantic elements to be perfectly woven into the fast-paced plotline. I don’t think there is one negative thing I can say about the overall concept and plot construction – it was dark, captivating, and purely MAGICAL!

I haven’t come across many books in which the protagonist is established as a “villain” from the very first page, but I LOVED Alessandra’s character. YA fantasy novels often give lead characters like Alessandra tragic backgrounds that explain where their evil side comes from, and it was so refreshing to have that not be the case in The Shadows Between Us. Alessandra was just 100 percent her authentically wicked self from the start, and while she did face some hardships in her life, she was never apologetic about the darker side of her personality. She’s never afraid of what other people with think when it comes to her ambition and intellect, and her fierce advocacy for women having the same opportunities as the men had me thinking “yass girl, you tell’em!” on numerous occasions. By book’s end, Alessandra was still so authentically her but had some major development when it comes to her feelings about romance, and while I normally would have liked to have seen a character grow leaps and bounds, seeing her remain true to herself was so much more powerful in this case. I seriously would give this book 5 stars just because Alessandra was that awesome, but there is plenty of more awesome to talk about yet to come!

Moving right along to our good ol’ friend, the Shadow King. I can honestly say that he really wasn’t anything I would consider overly special, but I still couldn’t help but love him. Like Alessandra, the Shadow King certainly had his dark side, but I appreciated the fact that he seemed so human, even with so much responsibility (and like five million literal shadows) on his shoulders. His humor was contagious, and I found myself smiling right along with him and rooting for him when times got tough. I think his calmer personality balanced out Alessandra’s wildness in the best of ways, and I was shipping them both from the moment they met at the ball!

The Shadows Between Us went above and beyond my expectations for a standalone fantasy novel. The plotline moved quickly, there were twists and turns galore, and the breadcrumbs of romance sprinkled in were honestly to die for! I seriously cannot rave enough about this book, and The Shadows Between Us will certainly go down as one of my favorite fantasy reads to date!

Who Would I Recommend This Book To?

If you’re on the hunt for a wickedly addictive fantasy standalone full of political intrigue amidst a court full of people who may not be as they seem, I highly recommend you give this book a read!

Fans of Sarah J. Maas, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Alexandra Christo, and Holly Black will also fall head over heels in love with this magnificent read by Tricia Levenseller.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s